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Subject:  Commercial financing

SUMMARY
     
This bill expands the scope of the California Financing Law to cover specified commercial financing transactions offered to small businesses and establishes requirements and prohibitions on commercial financing providers and brokers engaged in such transactions. 
EXISTING LAW
1. Pursuant to the California Financing Law (CFL):
0. Requires the licensure and oversight by the Department of Financial Protection and Innovation (DFPI) of businesses that provide commercial loans in the state. (Division 9 of the Financial Code, Section 22000 et seq.) 
0. Defines “commercial loan” as a loan of a principal amount of $5,000 or more, or any loan under an open-end credit program, the proceeds of which are intended by the borrower for use primarily for other than personal, family, or household purposes. (Financial Code Section 22502)
1. Pursuant to Division 9.5 of the Financial Code, commencing with Section 22800:
1. Requires specified disclosures related to commercial financing, which includes, among other things, a requirement to disclose the annualized rate for a commercial financing offer presented to a recipient. (Financial Code Section 22802 and 22803)
1. Defines the following terms, among others:
1. “Commercial financing” means an accounts receivable purchase transaction, including factoring, asset-based lending transaction, commercial loan, commercial open-end credit plan, or lease financing transaction intended by the recipient for use primarily for other than personal, family, or household purposes. (Financial Code Section 22800(d))
1. “Recipient” means a person who is presented a specific commercial financing offer by a provider that is equal to or less than five hundred thousand dollars ($500,000). (Financial Code Section 22800(n))
1. Subjects providers licensed under the CFL to examination and enforcement by DFPI for any violation of the disclosure requirements. (Financial Code Section 22805)
1. Pursuant to the California Consumer Financial Protection Law (CCFPL) and its implementing regulations:
2. Authorizes DFPI to promulgate regulations that define unfair, deceptive, and abusive acts and practices in connection with the offering or provision of commercial financing to small business recipients, nonprofits, and family farms. The rulemaking may also include data collection and reporting on the provision of commercial financing or other financial products and services. (Financial Code Section 90009(e))
2. Pursuant to (a), provides rules governing commercial financing products and services, including the following:
1. Defines “covered entity” to mean a small business, nonprofit, or family farm whose activities are principally directed or managed from California. (Title 10 California Code of Regulations, Section 1060(d))
1. Defines “covered provider” to mean any person engaged in the business of offering or providing commercial financing or another financial product or service to a covered entity, unless that person is exempt from the CCFPL pursuant to Financial Code Section 90002. (Title 10 California Code of Regulations, Section 1060(e))
1. Defines “small business” to mean a business entity organized for profit with annual gross receipts of no more than $16,000,000 or the annual gross receipt level as biennially adjusted by the Department of General Services in accordance with Government Code section 14837, subdivision (d)(3), whichever is greater. (Title 10 California Code of Regulations, Section 1060 (i))
1. Provides that is unlawful for a covered provider to engage or have engaged in any unfair, deceptive, or abusive act or practice in connection with the offering or provision of commercial financing or another financial product or service to a covered entity. (Title 10 California Code of Regulations, Section 1061(a))
1. Provides that an act or practice is unfair if either: 
4. The act or practice causes or is likely to cause substantial injury to the covered entity, the injury is not reasonably avoidable by the covered entity, and the injury is not outweighted by countervailing benefits, or
4. The act or practice is unfair under the California Unfair Competition Law and related case law. (Title 10 California Code of Regulations, Section 1061(b))
1. Provides that an act or practice, including a representation or omission, is deceptive if either:
5. The act or practice misleads or is likely to mislead the covered entity, the covered entity’s interpretation of the act or practice is reasonable under the circumstances, and the act or practice is material.
5. The act or practice is deceptive under the California Unfair Competition Law and related case law. (Title 10 California Code of Regulations, Section 1061(c))
1. Provides that an act or practice is abusive if either:
6. The act or practice materially interferes with the ability of a covered entity to understand a term or condition of commercial financing or another financial product or service.
6. The act or practice takes unreasonable advantage of:
1. A lack of understanding on the part of the covered entity of the material risks, costs, or conditions of the commercial financing or other financial product or service;
1. The inability of the covered entity to protect its interests in selecting or using commercial financing or another financial product or service; or
1. The reasonable reliance by the covered entity on a covered provider to act in the interests of the covered entity. (Title 10 California Code of Regulations, Section 1061(d))
1. Restricts specified fees charged to small businesses by commercial financing providers and brokers in connection with commercial financing transactions. (Title 1.90 of Part 4 of Division 3 of the Civil Code, commencing with Section 1799.300)
THIS BILL
The provisions of this bill are operative on January 1, 2026.
1. Prohibits a person from engaging in the business of a commercial financing provider or commercial financing broker without obtaining a license from DFPI pursuant to the California Financing Law (CFL). 
1. Subjects commercial financing providers and commercial financing brokers to the administrative and enforcement authorities of DFPI that are provided by the CFL. 
1. Defines the following terms, among others:
2. “Commercial financing” means an accounts receivable purchase transaction, including factoring, asset-based lending transaction, commercial loan, commercial open-end credit plan, or lease financing, intended by the recipient for use primarily for a purpose other than a personal, family, or household purpose.
2. “Commercial financing broker” means a person who is engaged in the business of performing any of the following acts in connection with commercial financing made by a commercial financing provider:
1. Transmitting sensitive data about a prospective recipient to a commercial financing provider with the expectation of compensation in connection with making a referral.
1. Making a referral to a commercial financing provider under an agreement with the commercial financing provider that a prospective recipient referred by the person to the commercial financing provider meets certain criteria involving sensitive data.
1. Participating in a commercial financing negotiation between a commercial financing provider and prospective recipient.
1. Counseling, advising, or making recommendations to a prospective recipient about a commercial financing transaction based on the prospective recipient’s sensitive data.
1. Participating in the preparation of commercial financing documents, including commercial financing applications, other than providing a prospective recipient blank copies of commercial financing documents. Provides that transmitting information that is not sensitive data to a commercial financing provider at the request of a prospective recipient shall not, by itself, constitute participation in the preparation of commercial financing documents.
1. Communicating to a prospective recipient a commercial financing provider’s commercial financing approval decisions.
1. Charging a fee to a prospective recipient for services related to a prospective recipient’s application for a commercial financing transaction from a commercial financing provider.
2. “Commercial financing provider” means a person who extends a specific offer of commercial financing to a recipient, including, but not limited to, a nondepository institution that enters into a written agreement with a depository institution to arrange for the extension of commercial financing by the depository institution to a recipient via an online lending platform administered by the nondepository institution.
2. “Recipient” means a small business or small business owner who is presented a specific commercial financing offer by a commercial financing provider that is equal to or less than $500,000.
2. “Referral” means the introduction of a prospective recipient to a commercial financing provider, or the delivery of a prospective recipient’s contact information to a commercial financing provider, for the purpose of making an introduction.
2. “Small business” means an independently owned and operated business that is not dominant in its field of operation and meets all of the following criteria:
5. The principal office of the business is located in California.
5. The officers of the business are domiciled in California.
5. The business, together with its affiliates, has 100 or fewer employees.
5. The business had average annual gross receipts of fifteen million dollars ($15,000,000) or less over the previous three years.
1. Provides specified exemptions to the proposed regulations of commercial financing transactions, including but not limited to, transactions secured by real property. 
1. Adopts the following provisions that currently apply to consumer loans under the CFL and makes them applicable to commercial financing transactions:
0. Provides that unconscionable contract terms are a violation of the CFL and subject to remedies provided by the CFL.
0. Prohibits a commercial financing provider or commercial financing broker from taking an instrument in which blanks are left to be filled in after execution.
0. Provides specified requirements of licensed commercial financing providers, including, but not limited to:
2. Obtain specified information related to whether a person has performed an act as a commercial financing broker in connection with the making of the commercial financing transaction and any sums paid or payable to the commercial financing broker or other person.
2. Permit payment to be made in advance in any amount on any commercial financing transaction at any time.
0. Provides specified requirements of licensed commercial financing brokers, including, but not limited to:
3. Deliver to the recipient a statement showing specified information about the commercial financing broker and the date, amount, and terms of the agreement with the commercial financing broker and all amounts paid, or to be paid, to the commercial financing broker and to any person other than the commercial financing provider. 
3. Deliver and retain a copy of a receipt for any payment made to the commercial financing broker, as specified, which shall also be delivered to the commercial financing provider if the payment is made by a person other than the commercial financing provider. 
1. Prohibits a commercial financing provider or commercial financing broker from the following acts:
0. Taking a confession of judgment or any power of attorney at any time before a default by a recipient.
0. Including a provision in a commercial financing transaction agreement or contract that does either of the following:
1. Authorizes the commercial financing provider or commercial financing broker to attach or garnish any of a recipient’s money held in an account in a depository institution. 
1. Limits or restricts a recipient from disclosing information that the recipient gains from the recipient’s business activities with the licensee, including, but not limited to, terms or conditions of a product or service offered by the licensee.
0. Violating Title 1.90 of Part 4 of Division 3 of the Civil Code, which prohibits the collection of specified fees related to commercial financing.
0. Collecting a charge based on the person paying funds for the repayment of a commercial financing transaction.
1. Requires a licensed commercial financing provider to do the following:
1. Comply with the requirements of Division 9.5 of the Financial Code, which is related to mandatory disclosures that a commercial financing provider must provide to a recipient. 
1. Upon a request in writing from a recipient, deliver an accurate statement of the total outstanding balance that would be required to pay the recipient’s obligation in full as of a certain date, as specified. 
1. Provide to a commercial financing broker specified information related to commercial financing transactions for which the commercial financing broker made a referral, including the annual percentage rate of those transactions.
1. Requires a commercial financing broker to disclose to a prospective recipient the average, minimum, and maximum combined APRs and estimated APRs disclosed to recipients for consummated commercial financing transactions that were referred by the commercial financing broker in the previous calendar year, as specified; to disclose that information clearly and conspicuously on its website; and to refrain from engaging in further brokering services with a potential recipient until the potential recipient has acknowledged the disclosure in writing. 
1. Provides a review process to be conducted by DFPI of commercial financing providers that use a specified method for calculating an estimated APR pursuant to existing commercial financing disclosure requirements and authorizes DFPI to require a commercial financing provider to use a different method if DFPI finds an unacceptable deviation between estimated and actual APRs, as specified. 
1. Prohibits a commercial financing provider from the following: 
4. Using the term “interest” to describe a percentage rate unless that rate is an annual percentage rate calculated in accordance with specified existing laws.
4. Using the term “rate” to describe a metric of financing cost unless that rate is an annual percentage rate calculated in accordance with specified existing laws. 
1. Requires a commercial financing provider, after extending a specific offer to a potential recipient and whenever stating a rate of finance charge or a financing amount to the potential recipient during an application process, to state the rate as “annual percentage rate” by using that term or the acronym “APR.” 
1. Requires a commercial financing provider to disclose the amount of a new commercial financing transaction that is used to pay off the portion of an existing commercial financing transaction that consists of prepayment charges required to be paid and any unpaid interest expense that was not forgiven at the time of renewal, if, as a condition of obtaining commercial financing, a commercial financing provider requires the recipient to pay off the balance of the existing commercial financing transaction from the same commercial financing provider. 
1. Makes conforming changes to various general administrative and enforcement provisions within the CFL to reflect the addition of commercial financing transactions to the scope of the licensing law. 
COMMENTS
1) PURPOSE
According to the author:
Small business borrowers are increasingly seeking out alternative forms of financing to start or grow their businesses. These alternative forms of financing operate with very little oversight and regulation, exposing small business borrowers to exploitation from providers as well as brokers. Though these new forms of financing are important tools for those who need them, the lack of regulation limits borrower protections against unethical practices. 
Additionally, financial providers may sign small business borrowers into egregious contracts with clauses like a confession of judgment. This allows providers to take money from a small business without recourse or due process. Some commercial finance brokers engage in steering practices where they exclusively refer small business borrowers to high-risk-high-cost providers that pay the broker up to 15% commission, over lower-cost financing that pay brokers less.
SB 1482 will prevent exploitative actions by creating a licensing structure for brokers and providers who evade regulation. The licensing structure will give the Department of Financial Protection and Innovation the ability to protect small business by giving it enforcement abilities over providers and brokers. The bill will provide small business borrowers with protections such as prohibiting confessions of judgment and steering practices, as well as, requiring brokers to disclose the average, minimum, and maximum APRs for the financing they placed clients into over the past year(s). SB 1482 is crucial in closing loops holes in CA commercial financing law that leave small business borrowers exposed to exploitation.
2) BACKGROUND
This bill is identical to SB 869 (Glazer) of this legislative session, as the bill was proposed to be amended by this committee. SB 869 passed this committee in January of this year with a unanimous 6-0 vote and the Senate Judiciary Committee on a 10-0 vote, but subsequently was held by the Senate Appropriations Committee.
The markets for commercial financing offer a variety of products that have different structures and terms, and the regulatory treatment of such products varies significantly under existing California law. Generally, there are financing products that fit neatly under legal definitions and interpretations as “commercial loans,” and there are financing products that may not be considered “loans” but that serve a similar basic function – providing a business with funds (or some other asset) that may be repaid in the future, along with interest or other finance charges. In most cases, providers of commercial loans are required to be licensed by the Department of Financial Protection and Innovation (DFPI) and subject to oversight by the department pursuant to the California Financing Law (CFL), unless the provider is exempt from the CFL, such as is the case for banks that are subject to different licensing or chartering laws. Non-loan commercial financing products, however, may be provided without a license and with significantly less oversight from DFPI. 
Commercial financing providers are less regulated than financing providers that serve consumers, likely based on the assumption that commercial transactions occur between parties that have higher levels of sophistication and knowledge than those involved in consumer transactions. But in the case of small business owners, is this assumption valid? It seems likely that many small business owners have a similar level of financial literacy, legal knowledge, and bargaining power as a typical consumer, which would support a similar policy approach that establishes baseline rules and oversight of providers of commercial financing to small businesses. 
This bill is a continuation of the author’s efforts to strengthen protections in small business financing markets. In 2018 the author worked to establish a first-in-the-nation disclosure framework that applies to a variety of financing products offered to small business borrowers through the enactment of SB 1235 (Glazer, Chapter 1011, Statutes of 2018). After a lengthy rulemaking process conducted by DFPI, the disclosure requirements became effective on December 9, 2022, and the Legislature codified the annualized rate disclosure requirement on an indefinite basis, replacing a previously enacted sunset date, with the passage of SB 33 (Glazer, Chapter 376, Statutes of 2023). The disclosure requirements enacted by SB 1235 and SB 33 apply to both loan and non-loan commercial financing products provided to small businesses, though enforcement of the requirements varies based on whether the provider is licensed under the CFL. This bill would not only make more uniform the enforcement of SB 1235/SB 33 requirements, but the bill also proposes a set of new rules governing commercial financing products provided to small businesses in California, whether those products are loans or other forms of financing. 
In addition to measures from this author, there are two other relevant, existing laws that provide legal protections for small businesses in financing markets. In 2020 the Legislature passed AB 1864 (Limón, Chapter 157, Statutes of 2020), enacting the California Consumer Financial Protection Law, which includes a provision authorizing DFPI to promulgate regulations that define unfair, deceptive, and abusive acts and practices (UDAAPs) in connection with the offering or provision of commercial financing to small business recipients, nonprofits, and family farms. DFPI finalized that rule in August 2023, providing the department with authority to take enforcement actions related to UDAAPs in small business financing markets. While this law does not provide the gatekeeping and examination authorities of a licensing law, it offers a baseline safety net for the department to go after bad actors who harm small business borrowers and to provide remedies for those borrowers. Additionally, the Legislature last year passed SB 666 (Min, Chapter 881, Statutes of 2023), enacting restrictions on certain types of so-called “junk fees” found in some commercial financing products offered to small businesses. 
Taken together, the disclosures required by SB 1235/SB 33, the restriction on “junk fees,” and the UDAAP authority provided to DFPI inarguably improve the legal protections for California small businesses, relative to those that existed prior to 2022. The author and supporters of this bill argue that those protections are not sufficient. As stated by the author, this bill intends to close gaps that remain in state law by proposing an expansion of the California Financing Law (CFL) to cover non-loan commercial financing products and proposing new regulations within the CFL for commercial financing products offered to small business recipients. 
3) SCOPE OF TRANSACTIONS COVERED BY THIS BILL
This bill proposes new regulations on a subset of commercial financing transactions that meet all of the following criteria:
· Product: accounts receivable purchase transaction, including factoring, asset-based lending transaction, commercial loan, or lease financing
· Amount of financing: $500,000 or less
· Borrower characteristics: Must be a small business located in California with 100 or fewer employees and less than $15 million of annual revenue. 
· Non-exempt provider: Certain entities and transactions are exempt due to the structure of existing law[footnoteRef:1] or exemptions proposed by this bill.[footnoteRef:2] [1:  See Article 2 of Chapter 1 of Division 9 of the Financial Code (commencing with Section 22050) for exemptions to the California Financing Law (CFL). Prominent examples of persons exempted from the CFL include banks, credit unions, and de minimis lenders (makes 5 or fewer loans per year).]  [2:  See proposed Financial Code Section 22656 in this bill. ] 

Given this scope, the new regulations proposed by this bill should affect few transactions between relatively sophisticated parties. The maximum transaction amount of $500,000 acknowledges that even if a borrower is considered a small business, that borrower is more likely to retain financial and legal advice, if necessary, to navigate larger and more complex transactions than the small business may be able to handle in-house. Additionally, the requirement that a borrower must be considered a “small business” in order for the regulations to apply means that small transactions between financing providers and larger business borrowers will not be subject to the new regulations. While the transaction amount and revenue threshold to be deemed a “small business” are arbitrary, the proposed amounts appear reasonably tailored to protect small business borrowers without adding unnecessary burdens to transactions between relatively sophisticated parties. 
4) PROBLEMS AND PROPOSED SOLUTIONS
The author’s office, working with responsible lending and small business advocates, identifies the following problems within commercial financing markets and how this bill seeks to address those problems.


	Problem
	Proposed Solution

	No oversight over small business financing brokers - Irresponsible small business lending is fueled by brokers who earn higher fees for steering small businesses into costlier, more dangerous financing. Without a licensing framework, bad actor brokers are able to avoid accountability while good brokers struggle to compete.
	Establish a licensing requirement for brokers of small business financing, so that bad actors can be monitored by DFPI and small businesses are able to seek accountability if mistreated. (Fin. Code §22100.6)

	Broker market opacity - While small business financing brokers generally appear similar to their potential clients, important distinctions exist. Some brokers offer the full range of financing options customers expect, while other brokers are “merchant cash advance mills” that focus on placing applicants into high-rate financing.
	Require brokers to clearly disclose and identify on their websites the average, min, and max APRs for the financing they placed clients into in the previous calendar year. (Fin. Code §22663(a))

	Licensing loophole for non-loan financing products -Products like merchant cash advances and factoring are not included within CA’s licensing law, despite being associated with higher risks for small business borrowers. This exemption from licensing puts these products at an advantage compared to traditional financing products and shields them from appropriate oversight by DFPI. 
	Extend CA’s financing licensing framework to providers of non-loan products including merchant cash advances, factoring, lease financing that works like a loan, and asset-based lending. (Fin. Code §22100.6)

	Taking small businesses’ money without recourse or due process – Some financing providers are evading a state law prohibiting the use of a legal device called a “confession of judgment.” This formerly obscure legal document allows financing companies to take all money they feel they are owed in a default straight from a small business’s bank account, without regular legal process with a court. 
	Extend the prohibition on confessions of judgment California passed in 2022 to similar legal devices that are being used which are circumventing the prohibition. (Fin. Code §22659)

	Confidentiality clauses - Standard language in high-cost financing contracts threatens small business owners with lawsuits and legal fees if they tell an outside party the outrageous prices and terms they are being charged.
	Prohibit these “confidentiality clauses.” (Fin. Code §22660(b))

	Slow-walking refinances to keep borrowers trapped - 
When a small business tries to refinance to lower their costs, they often need their current lender to provide a payoff letter naming the amount to be paid off on a given day. If the lender withholds that letter or does not provide it promptly, it can prevent the borrower from refinancing.
	Require refinance information be provided within three business days after written request. (Fin. Code §22661(g))

	Anti-competitive charges for refinancing - Some financing providers require a higher cost to pay them off if the payoff funds are coming through a refinance. This penalizes borrowers for finding a more affordable option and prevents competition between financing providers.
	Establish that the payoff amount should not differ based on the party paying off the owed funds. (Fin. Code §22660(d))




	Problem
	Proposed Solution

	Transparent pricing getting lost in the “fine print” - California’s small business truth in lending law was groundbreaking, establishing transparency standards for small business financing. CA SB 1235 requires a pricing disclosure form that small businesses see when a financing offer is first presented. However, that single disclosure form may be the only time small business owners see their pricing described transparently. 
	Require that APR or Estimated APR be stated whenever a commercial financing provider states a rate of finance charge or a financing amount during an application process. This is already required in New York. (Fin. Code §22666(c))

	Loophole in disclosure accountability - California’s truth in lending regulations may allow merchant cash advance companies to make up unreasonably low Estimated Payment amounts, Estimated Terms, and Estimated APRs, without DFPI ever knowing. The current regulations ask merchant cash advance companies to police themselves for honesty in deriving their estimates and slap their own wrists if they catch themselves cheating.

	Require merchant cash advance companies to report to DFPI on the accuracy of those estimates and for DFPI to examine whether any financing company abused the regulation’s flexibility by manipulating the pricing disclosure to appear unreasonably low. (Fin. Code §22665)

	Misleading pricing metrics – Some financing providers describe their pricing using “novel” metrics that look and feel like interest rates but are generally a lower number than the actual interest rate. For example, Federal Reserve researchers show that a loan with “9% simple interest” may have an effective annual interest rate or APR of 46%, but that this metric misguided small businesses into believing the loan was less expensive than a credit card with a 22% interest rate. 
	Adopt prohibitions, already in law in New York, to ensure that terms that look and feel like the interest rate or APR are used only to describe an actual interest rate or APR. (Fin. Code §22666)

	Double charging fees while renewing a borrower’s financing - High-cost financing providers sometimes use a reviled practice called “double dipping” to double-charge small businesses renewing their financing. This can happen frequently because short-term, high-cost financing is often refinanced repeatedly, similar to a consumer payday loan.
	Require a disclosure at the time a loan or merchant cash advance is being refinanced or renewed, of the excess finance charges that would be double charged. This is already required in New York law. (Fin. Code §22667)



5) IMPLEMENTATION CONSIDERATIONS
This bill raises issues related to implementation that the author may consider addressing if this bill is passed by the Committee. 
a) Harmonizing definitions
First, the definitions of “recipient” and “small business” proposed by this bill are not fully aligned with existing law, which itself is not free of conflict. If this bill is enacted, there will be four distinct sets of law intended to protect small business borrowers, each of which would be enforceable by DFPI. The populations of transactions covered by each of the three existing laws differ due to variances in key definitions. This bill mostly follows the definitions found in SB 666, which vary from those found in SB 1235/SB 33 and the CCFPL UDAAP rule, as shown in the table below. 
[image: ]
	Recommendation: The author may consult with DFPI, responsible small business lending advocates, and commercial financing providers to evaluate the merits of harmonizing definitions across the four laws. Committee staff sees merit in adopting the definition of “small business” found in the CCFPL UDAAP rule across the other three laws for two reasons. First, the CCFPL UDAAP definition avoids the potentially unintended constraint created by the requirement that the business’ officers must be domiciled in California, as there may be businesses that allow one or more officers to live outside of the state while still maintaining a principal office and conducting nearly all business activities within the state. Second, the CCFPL UDAAP definition contains a gross receipts threshold that can be adjusted for inflation without requiring statutory changes. Committee staff also recommends that the author consider amending the commercial financing disclosure law to require that a “recipient” be a small business, so that relatively small transactions made to larger businesses do not trigger the disclosure requirement. 
b) 	DFPI capacity
The Legislature has enacted several laws in recent years that have expanded the scope of responsibility and workload placed on DFPI: namely, the commercial financing disclosure rules (2018), the California Consumer Financial Protection Law (2020), the Debt Collector Licensing Act (2020), and the Digital Financial Assets Law (2023). While this bill does not propose a brand new licensing law, the expansion of the CFL to cover non-loan commercial financing will likely lead to hundreds of new licensure applications from companies seeking to become licensed providers or brokers.
Recommendation: The author may consider alternative regulatory frameworks that are less costly than expanding the CFL and requiring DFPI to promulgate complicated rules related to regulated activity of commercial financing providers and brokers. The author may also seek technical assistance from DFPI to identify opportunities to add sufficient specificity to avoid extensive and costly rulemaking responsibilities. 
6) ARGUMENTS IN SUPPORT
A broad coalition representing over 500 for-profit financing companies and nonprofit advocates for economic opportunity, as well as thousands of small business owners, writes in support of the bill. The coalition argues:
SB 1482 empowers small businesses to make informed decisions in work with brokers and report bad actors, by establishing a licensing framework and transparency about the broker’s offerings…
SB 1482 will catalyze good lending to small businesses by preventing bad-actor financing companies from taking unfair advantage of their competition and of small business customers…
Loopholes in our price disclosure regulations ask bad actors to slap their own wrists… DFPI acknowledged the need to correct this problem five times in its Statement of Reasons for the disclosure rulemaking. SB 1482 would address this needed fix, and several other loopholes that New York State closed when it passed its own disclosure law that was inspired by California’s.
7) ARGUMENTS IN OPPOSITION
Forward Financing (“Forward”), a provider of merchant cash advance products, writes in opposition. Forward argues that California has advanced significant legislative and regulatory activity in the commercial financing space and recommends “time to adjust to the newly enacted law before imposing additional burdensome and complicated obligations.” Forward argues that using the California Financing Law as the framework through which to regulate non-loan commercial financing providers will be “cumbersome and difficult.” 
8) DOUBLE-REFERRAL
This bill is double-referred to the Committee on Judiciary.
LIST OF REGISTERED SUPPORT/OPPOSITION
Support
Access Plus Capital
California Coalition for Community Investment
California Low-income Consumer Coalition
Cameo - California Association for Micro Enterprise Opportunity
Consumer Federation of California
Microenterprise Collaborative of Inland Southern California
National Community Reinvestment Coalition
Pacific Community Ventures
Public Counsel
Renaissance Entrepreneurship Center
Rise Economy
Small Business Majority
The Responsible Business Lending Coalition
Uptima Entrepreneur Cooperative

Opposition
Forward Financing, LLC
Kapitus
Rapid Finance
Revenue Based Finance Coalition
Small Business Finance Association 

-- END --
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